Delayed but not Denied

This week, I want to talk about something that’s been heavy on my heart for a couple years now. I mean it feels like it’s a never ending thought….WHEN IS IT MY TURN!!

In High School I created my 10 year plan. I would go to college for Mass Communications, marry my high school sweetheart, have this amazing career in production, travel then have kids and travel some more! Yep, I was ready to live and love life.

Then life smacked me in my face!

Update: I graduated college but the boyfriend didn’t make it past freshmen year, and my amazing career in production…weeellll.

When my list started to fall apart, I felt like I had to pick up the slack, quick! I was dating and talking to guys that weren’t good for me and I was jumping into job situations without thinking them through. I was determined to make it, and to 23-year-old me, my clock was ticking!

I, like most of you, fell victim to watching everyone move in “great places” in their life and I’m still at a standstill. I started to see people I went to high school and college with, have these great jobs, starting families and posting everyday on Facebook how great their life is.

What about me!? I’m a good person, where is my husband, how come I can’t find my perfect job, when will my happiness be here!?

Fast forward to 2016 and 25-years-old, I began to realize that I may be delayed but I’m not denied! As much as I would love to take credit for this, I can’t. I actually heard this at a revival where Bishop T.D. Jakes preached a couple years ago. (If you haven’t heard him preach, make it your mission to do so…no pressure tho lol)

Anyway, I’m learning that my destination date is different from everyone else’s and I can’t rush my process or progress. Also, everyone on social media ain’t who they ‘post to be!  So, I got rid of my list of “what’s supposed to be’s” and started living in the moment. I now believe if I got to my final stop in life at 23 and received everything that is promised to me in my future back then, I wouldn’t know how to treat it correctly and I wouldn’t know how to go through a storm and come out fighting.

So cravers, we may not be at our ending goals just yet, but we must embracing our journey. We can’t be our younger selves trying to get to the end of our life book without even finishing the 1st chapter. These necessary bumps and bruises make us stronger and prepare us for greater! It may not be right now…but it’s coming!

Welcome to the school of life!

 

Keep craving

-Monic

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nosyjosie says:

    o0o I needed this. I’m in a similar place right now and I know how hard it is to swallow a pill of not being where you feel you should be in life. But you’re absolutely right – we have our own paths. We definitely won’t get there complaining more than we press forward toward progression. Love it!

    Like

  2. Monic says:

    Thank you lady! I agree complaining does nothing if we want something we have to go through the of getting there. Every now and then I’m swallow that pill and then I pick myself up and get back to my grind!

    Like

Share your mental. . .

