The Imaginary Deadline

DUN! DUN! DUN!

The world, and most importantly your mother, is telling you, you’re almost 30; it’s time to find a man, get married and start having HER grandkids.

Ehh no thank you. I’m not trying to join the married club until I’m absolutely ready. (I’m far from being ready) I have a long list of my own imaginary deadlines that I’m trying to accomplish. I wouldn’t say that marriage is at the bottom of my list, but it’s nowhere near the top. I’ve done a lot of scratching off of this list this year, and trust, I’m not even close to marriage yet.

I’ve noticed that this generation has basically put a deadline on life in general, like after 29 you shrivel up and die. Where is it written that I have to be married by 25, and have kids before I’m 30? (It’s nowhere, for those of you wondering)

I don’t know, maybe I missed the memo or group meeting but I did not sign up for rushing to the finish line, I’ll wait for my time to come. I’m enjoying my free time, oh and did I mention my money too.

Right now, I am SINGLE. I’m not the lonely oh I wish I had a man single, I’m the let me live this life real quick then I’ll make time for a boyfriend. I will say, I may be a little too comfortable with being single, but for the moment, I enjoy it.

I really don’t have time for a boyfriend; heck I wouldn’t even know what to do with one of those lol. Do I date? Of course, but to try to commit myself right now would be unfair to both parties, see I’m what you call a workaholic. All my focus is on personally building my empire. Although I do believe in building with someone, I want to establish myself first before I add someone in the mix. I can’t ask someone what they have to offer if I’m just bringing myself to the table and being cute lol.

I don’t want to come off cold hearted because I’m far from that. In real life and in a perfect word, I’m a hopeless romantic. I love love and I enjoy being in the presence of someone who thinks the world of me, but right now I’m selfish. I want my cake and I want to eat it too, and currently my cake is me, myself, and I. My current finish line is my career and traveling, and even that is never ending.

So let’s stop falling victim to “normalcy”. It’s extremely harder now not to fall into this trap with social media pumping up “relationship goals” and what not. Take your time in finding a mate, after all, this is supposed to be the person you spend the next 50 + years with.

Kiss a couple frogs before prince charming comes along.

Until next time cravers

-Monic

Share your mental. . .

